Christmas

This week was tiring, but great! We visited family for Christmas and they provided all the meals and entertaining. So there was no pressure whatsoever for us to think of Christmas recipes, do groceries, decorate tables and whatnot. This year’s Christmas was one of the best ever. Nothing fancy, just a simple meal with family. I hope we get to do this every year from now on.

Yesterday we spent €800 in a baby store. Ouch! About half of that amount was spent on a new maxi-cosi and a click-fix thingy. The second-hand maxi-cosi was over five years old and then it just isn’t safe in a crash anymore. That’s why we were willing to spend money on a new one. The click-fix thingy is a non-necessary item, we know. We will enjoy it a lot, though. It will save us lots of fiddling around with seatbelts. Oh well, we decided to treat ourselves to this luxury.

The other stuff consisted of things like a mattress, baby bath, blankets, towels and other items a baby needs. Combined with our second-hand purchases we spent about €1400 in total on the baby and we think we’ve got it all. I prepared the trip really well. I made lists of things we’d need so we were in and out in about two hours. Still, it was a very tiring experience. Why on earth would anybody want to hang around these stores on a weekly basis?

Because of all these activities I couldn’t find the time to actually write a blog. I’m still working on the index investing for Europeans total blog post. Also, the side business is extremely busy. The company’s bank account is taking in lots of ‘stash. Yay! January is usually also an extremely good month for my business. So I guess next month I will be rather busy with the side business as well.

The baby is still kicking like crazy and she tends to wake her mother a couple of times each night using her bladder as a trampoline. Oh well…

The husband will be leaving for his short snowboarding holiday on the 1st of January, early in the morning. I’m excited for him. He’s really looking forward to this, but he does feel a little bit guilty. I’m the one pushing him to go and enjoy it. I’ll be queen of the castle in the meantime and wash all this new baby stuff and fiddle around with other things on my to-do-list. Can’t wait!

Love,

Mrs EconoWiser

2 thoughts on “Christmas

Leave a comment