What’s Your Offical Pensionable Age?

Pensionable age in the Netherlands is being increased from 65 to 67 within the next couple of years. As of 2024 pensionable age will increase according to the average life expectancy of the Dutch.

The calculator on this website (I found it via Spaarolifantje) will allow Dutch citizens to calculate their pensionable age according to the new rules. It’s not set in stone yet…but you can imagine that pensionable age will exceed 67 in the future.

The hubby is 35 years old now. I entered his date of birth and the website told me he’ll be allowed to officially retire on 16-12-2048 at 70 years and 3 months of age.

I’m 32 years old today. I entered my date of birth and the website told me I’ll be able to officially retire on 19-10-2051 at 70 years and 6 months of age.

I don’t know about you…but I find this rather shocking! I will have worked for 50 years in total. There’s no way in hell I’m going to sit around and wait for the government and my pension funds (which sucks at investing my money properly anyway…but I’m obligated to participate) to tell me when to quit work. Jeez, that’s another 37 years. I don’t think so!

What’s your official pensionable age? Is pensionable age being increased in your country as well.

Love,

Mrs EconoWiser

6 thoughts on “What’s Your Offical Pensionable Age?

  1. Monique

    Ik ben 46 jaar en ‘mag’ met 68 jaar en 9 maanden met pensioen…Ik zie mezelf echt niet doorwerken tot die leeftijd. Ik hoop over 12 (tot 14?) jaar financieel onafhankelijk te zijn en dan mijn eigen keuzes hierin te kunnen maken.

    Reply
    1. econowiser Post author

      Oei, auw! Maar ook: jonkie! Jij bent er fijn op tijd bij en kan de tijd nog meer in je voordeel laten werken! Als je hier nu al mee bezig bent kun je je doel gewoon niet missen! Hoera voor compound interest!

      Reply
  2. Opnieuw Beginnen

    43 jaar gewerkt en nu 61 jaar werkloos!! Nog 38 maanden solliciteren en pensioen.

    Als ik zo rond kijk dan zijn de meesten met 64 op en versleten. Te zwaar.
    In de periode dat tot 65 werd gewerkt. Leefden de gepensioneerden hierna nog maar een paar jaar.
    Op tijd met pensioen, dan leef je langer,

    Wat adviseer jij me over investeren?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

