Persuasion

I nagged the husband to read jlcollinsnh’s stock series and other related posts which is an extremely valuable addition and resource to J’s fantastic blog. If you haven’t read those posts yet, I strongly recommend that you do. The husband reluctantly began reading them during his daily train commutes. I stopped talking about the subject for a bit.

Yesterday out of the blue he mentioned: “I should invest more.” Huh? Say what? “Yeah, so I’ve been reading jlcollinsnh and all of a sudden I feel the urge to invest more. He never tells readers that they MUST do this and that and follow certain rules. I don’t know what it is…it just made me feel I should invest more. I also love his writing style.”

Yay! I guess I’ll be feeding him even more resources from now on so he can make up his mind on what to do. The biggest hurdle is making a decision on asset allocation, believing in it and then sticking to it. Oh, that’s three hurdles. Well, I’m sure we’ll get there. We’ve already made a good start, I like to think.

Are you and your spouse on the same page when it comes to investing?

Love,

Mrs EconoWiser

3 thoughts on “Persuasion

    1. econowiser Post author

      He’s not saying he’s going to copy his approach (he isn’t, his portfolio is more volatile), he’s just saying he realizes there’s a lot more you can do with your money than just letting it sit there in a savings account against 1.85% interest. And he’s gaining confidence in investing. He’ll form his own view. He also didn’t agree with some of J’s views, for example on the ever-growing market. My husband is the kind of guy that will read lots and lots of stuff, will analyze it and then form his own unique opinion. Don’t worry, he won’t just rely on one recommendation only and neither will/have I.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

