Parental Leave

Today I read about the rules on maternity leave and I calculated when I’ll be on maternity leave. It’s probably from 11th of February till 20th June. I’ll have to work for about seven days…and then the six-week summer holidays start. If I deliver the baby later than 22nd March those days will be extracted from the seven days that I’d still have to work. That’s a long time, I know. We take care of our pregnant women here in The Netherlands.

However, I also read about parental leave. This differs per company. The company I work for offers a great parental leave deal. Basically it comes down to the following. My work is divided into four blocks per year. Since I work four days a week I have to work 332 hours per block, 1327 hours per year. The company offers 25% of your yearly workload parental leave at 75% pay. This applies to each child until they’ve reached the age of four. This means that I could take 1 block of sabbatical after having my first child. I intend to “save” that time until I’ve had a second child and then have a sabbatical of 2 blocks, which is one semester. I still have to talk to my supervisor about this plan. Some colleagues decide to work one day less for a year or so and “spend” the days they were given that way. I’m in favour of a sabbatical. I mean, six months off at 75% pay…I’d be crazy to pass that, wouldn’t I?!

What would you do? Do you have similar arrangements at work?

Love,

Mrs EconoWiser

4 thoughts on “Parental Leave

  1. Valhalla

    Hmmm 12 weeks after birth most of us have to go back to work again, and often employers are not so happy when you want to take ehm, parental-leave after that or something. I think it is really sad that a lot of babies have to miss their mother from then on for at least a couple of days. Besides that, breastfeeding really goes well after the months, your production becomes more stable… but then you have to start breastpumping somewhere in a closet at the office…. and a lot of us give up.

    I really think this sucks in the Netherlands. When I had our second child I also needed to go to work after maternity leave ended, it was the worst time of my life, really.

    Reply
    1. econowiser Post author

      I can work those couple of days from home and thus keep on breast feeding. So, I’ll be at home from Saturday 8th February up to and including Monday 25th August. So, I’ll be able to breast feed the baby at home for five months. I guess I’m one of the lucky ones. Then, I’ll make use of the 25% rule for breast feeding so that the first five months of work I’ll only have to work 75% of my official work load and will be able to breast feed and breast pump. Let’s see how things work out…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

