Buying A Home Is Now Cheaper Than Renting

According to this article buying a home in The Netherlands is now cheaper than renting one. For years it has been the case that renting was a lot cheaper over here. Especially renting via our organized rental housing system. It would take you a couple of years on the waiting list but if you were one of the lucky ones to actually be assigned one of these homes you’d spend a small amount of your income on rent each month. This is also why landlording in The Netherlands was never a very lucrative business. As a landlord you’d have to compete with the inexpensive rental housing system. All that has now changed, they say.

I never lived in a rental house that I got through the system. However, I lived in a very very very cheap house for ten years. It was supposed to get demolished, but that never happened. The owner didn’t take care of the building at all. He only helped us in emergencies, like when the roof leaked. After about three years my then boyfriend now husband came to live with me in that house. For all those ten years I/we paid €350 a month for a detached four bedroom home. That’s cheap as chips! That’s also why we were lucky enough to save a shitload of money.

Now, our mortgage is about four times that amount. But in the end, we’ll own this home. The last couple of months in the rental were very unhealthy. Mold got the better of the building.

How about rentals in your country?

Love,

Mrs EconoWiser

4 thoughts on “Buying A Home Is Now Cheaper Than Renting

  1. Daantje

    Toch vind ik het een beetje een geforceerd onderzoek. Per m2 zul je voor huren wel meer kwijt zijn dan voor kopen, maar als ik kijk naar mijn maandlasten dan was ik voor ons huurhuis toch een stuk minder kwijt geweest dan we nu aan hypotheek betalen… In mijn ogen is het appels met peren vergelijken.

    Reply
      1. Alynia

        Ik denk het wel. Onze SWB-huurwoning is qua grootte vergelijkbaar of zelfs iets groter dan het koopappartement van mijn ex, en hij betaalt drie keer zo veel aan hypotheek. En daar komt dan nog eens bijna ons huurbedrag aan VVE bij. Woningprijzen zijn gedaald, maar niet tot maar een kwart van wat ze een paar jaar geleden waren.

  2. zeldesse

    Hangt ook erg van de regio af, neem ik aan. Sommige plekken zijn de huizenprijzen veel sterker gedaald dan andere.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

