Decluttering And Financial Independence

I read this great post on GRS about saving your sense by decluttering. Ever since we moved to our new home two years ago I’ve been on a quest to declutter. We threw a lot of stuff away during the move, but I couldn’t part with a bunch of other stuff back then. Since then, I’ve made a lot of progress. See, the hoarder in the household used to be me. The husband doesn’t have that many possessions.

I read a book called Organizing from the Inside Out by Julie Morgenstern and that really got me going. During the first year that we lived in our home I started decluttering and organizing room by room. At the same time I started getting a grip on our finances again. Before our wedding I went through a couple of frugal years…but totally let things slip out of my hands ever since the proposal. Yes, the wedding cost a lot!

I noticed that decluttering and getting a grip on your finances go hand in hand. The GRS article also describes the same effect. It has given me cravings for another round of decluttering as in: throwing or giving the last bits and bobs away which I couldn’t part with earlier but which have not been used since we’ve moved into this house.

Sounds like a sensible idea, doesn’t it? Do you agree that decluttering helps you reach financial independence?

Love,

Mrs EconoWiser

7 thoughts on “Decluttering And Financial Independence

    1. econowiser Post author

      Some items I try to sell, some items I’ll throw out and others I’ll give away. I prefer to give things away when I know friend might really want an item.

      Reply
  1. Cleo

    I was asking because I’m always in two minds on either selling (which brings money but takes time and energy) or giving away (which doesn’t bring money but no time either). Most of the time I choose giving away, but I’d like to grow my stash too. Dilemma’s 🙂 🙂 

    Reply
  2. Valhalla

    Deceided to never sell stuff again, just costs too much energy. It’s not the time it costs, but the stuuupid people who do not actually want to buy, but just make very low bids and never react again. Now I always give it away, and in the end I also get what I need in return, for free. Especially (kids) clothing.

    When I started saving, I also decluttered the entire house and minimized my own stuff. We could live in a really small house, acutally 😉

    Reply
    1. Cleo

      You’re right; i forgot about the annoying rude people on MP. Thanks for the reality check and virtual kick in da butt :-). I’m gonna freecycle the stuff

      Reply

Leave a Reply

