I Went Back To Log Out And Save Money

Monday I went to Amsterdam to meet up with a friend. We went to the bag museum which was awesome! I have a museum card for which I pay about 50 euros each year. This allows me to enter over 400 museums in The Netherlands “for free”. The amount of entrance fee I would normally pay each year definitely exceeds that amount. So I think it’s worth it.

Anyways, this blog post is not about my museum card but about my transportation card. We have a very nice system in The Netherlands now where you have a card with a built-in chip to allow you to travel our public transport without having to buy a physical ticket. An added bonus is that you can buy a discount card which automatically charges you less if you travel outside peak hours. This discount card also is about 50 euros a year and well worth it. The only thing you need to do is bleep in and bleep out. I did just that on the way to Amsterdam. On the way back I also bleeped in…but I forgot to bleep out! The one-way trip would have cost me only €8.30 if I hadn’t forgotten to bleep out. Now, I would be paying the maximum tariff of €35! I suddenly realised this after dinner back home. I decided to go back and check whether the machine would still allow me to bleep out. Surprisingly, this wasn’t a problem and the machine charged me €8.30. The whole extra trip cost me about 20 minutes in total, so I “earned” €26.70 in that period of time.

Would you have done the same?

Love,

Mrs EconoWiser

 

2 thoughts on “I Went Back To Log Out And Save Money

  1. spaarolifantje

    I would definitely have done the same. I believe you can do this for hours and hours after finishing your actual trip. You also could have called the company that manages the card (the OV-chipkaart) and explain it to them. They probably would have had no problem with correcting this for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

