Making Suggestions For Your Local Library

I made a list of books I would really like to read. I came up with it after having read reviews by Mr. Money Mustache and Get Rich Slowly. I asked my local library to purchase:

  • The Boglehead’s Guide to Investing
  • The Boglehead’s Guide to Retirement Planning
  • A Random Walk Down Wall Street

Hopefully they will purchase these books so that I (and hopefully many other fellow citizens) can read them. If they do, I will certainly put in more suggestions for books concerning personal finance.

I used to buy lots and lots of books. I do not intend to do that anymore. I got rid of so many of them (except my personal finance books!) when we moved a couple of years ago. I was just tired of the amount of space they took up. Plus, it is not very Mustachian to keep buying books. I just love riding my bike to the library and back again.

Do you have more suggestions for me?

Love,

Mrs EconoWiser

2 thoughts on “Making Suggestions For Your Local Library

  1. marcel

    I bought both the The Boglehead’s Guide to Investing and A Random Walk Down Wall Street during a trip in the US and can certainly recommend them. I also scrolled through The Boglehead’s Guide to Retirement Planning but concluded that due to too specific US topics like 401K and Roth IRA it wasn´t that useful for Dutch readers. Two other books I bought in the US and can recommend are:

    The Only Guide to a Winning Investment Strategy You’ll Ever Need: The Way Smart Money Invests Today – by Larry Swedroe. This is the best book on investing I ever read due it’s not really for beginning invester.

    Common Sense on Mutual Funds: Fully Updated 10th Anniversary Edition – by John Bogle. After reading this book you will never consider to buy actively managed mutual funds but will index instead.

    Not sure about your local library, but mine would not consider buying these books. So if you or one of your friends/relatives plan a trip to the US you may want to include a shopping list for the books mentioned. Books are really cheap in the US, about a 1/3 of the price in the Netherlands.

    Reply
    1. econowiser Post author

      Hi Marcel, thanks for the heads up on the retirement book. I was planning to read the investment books first. Hopefully my local library is willing to add these books to their collection. I’ll look into your other two suggestions as well. Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

